Classic French Bread – Baguette

April 14, 2010 at 6:38 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments
Tags: , , ,

So while waiting for my sourdough starter, I wanted to start with a more basic recipe off Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day. I decided to make the Classic French Bread, and shape it into baguettes. I just followed his recipe to the dot. I even bought myself a kitchen scale, felt all grown up! And of course, set up unglazed terra cotta tiles in my oven. I couldn’t find a baking stone in my city. Hearth style baking is fairly new to me. But I think I managed OK.

Baguettes shaped.

Baguettes Proofed:

And baked!

I just think his recipe works like magic! Easily the best bread I’ve ever made.

Submitting this to Susan for YeastSpotting.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. [...] Classic French Bread [...]

  2. I love homemade baguettes. It looks like you did really well. They look rustic and delicious!

  3. These baguettes look wonderful!

  4. Thank you so much Mimi and Oriana!


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

